## 1975-76 Smalley Awards Presented

Under the direction of the Smalley Check Sample Committee, AOCS again presented Certificates of Proficiency to a number of chemists at the Society's 67th Annual Spring Meeting in New Orleans.

Horace J. Keith, laboratory supervisor at Anderson Clayton & Co. in Lubbock, Texas, is the winner of the Smalley Cup for 1975-76. The Cup, presented annually by the Smalley Check Sample Committee, is given to the chemist with the highest proficiency in the Combined Determination of Moisture, Oil, and Nitrogen in the Oilseed Meal Series.

The Smalley Check Sample Program, sponsored by AOCS for about 60 years, is a competitive program designed to measure the proficiency of individual laboratory efforts, calibration of equipment, etc. The basic purpose of the program is to provide a means by which an individual chemist can check his own work, equipment, and reagents against the performance of his peers throughout the world. Participants in the program can select from 20 sample series, including such commodities as cottonseed, soybean, peanuts, tallow and grease, copra, and others. About 500 chemists participate in the Smalley Program annually.

Certificates of Proficiency have been presented to the Cup winner and to the following individuals in the categories designated:

## **Oilseed Meal (15 samples)**

Combined Moisture, Oil, and Nitrogen Determinations First Place:

Horace J. Keith, Anderson Clayton & Co., Lubbock, TX

Honorable Mention:

Biffle Owen, Planters Manufacturing Co., Clarksdale, MS

Vera Pierce, Plains Cooperative Oil Mill, Lubbock, TX James E. Williams, Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, Clarksdale, MS

John W. Thomas, Superindendence Co., Inc., Kenner, LA

## Moisture Determination

## First Place:

Thomas J. Moore, Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, North Little Rock, AR

- Honorable Mention:
  - James E. Williams, Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, Clarksdale, MS

Mamdouh H. Abed, Abott A. Hanks, Inc., San Francisco, CA

Arlin Van Kley, Big 4, Sheldon, IA

Robert Hein, Dawson Mills, Dawson, MN

Betty L. Miller, Curtis & Tompkins, Ltd., San Francisco, CA

## Oil Determination

#### First Place:

Horace J. Keith, Anderson Clayton & Co., Lubbock, TX

Honorable Mention:

Biffle Owen, Planters Manufacturing Co., Clarksdale, MS

Philip L. Maiers, Doty-Wilhoit Laboratories, Minneapolis, MN

William J. Johnson, Buckeye Cellulose Corporation, Memphis, TN

Deropha J. Porter, Porter Testing Laboratory, Oklahoma City, OK

Roger C. Miller, Geo. W. Gooch Laboratories, Los Angeles, CA

## Nitrogen Determination

First Place:

D.C. Melear, Jr., Southwestern Laboratories, Fort Worth, TX

Honorable Mention:

Ronnie M. Fox, Texas Testing Laboratories, Dallas, TX

Douglas E. McLemore, Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, Gainesville, FL

Michael L. Valletta, Bureau of Chemistry, New York, NY

John W. Thomas, Superintendence Co., Inc., Kenner, LA

Roger C. Miller, Geo. W. Gooch Laboratories, Los Angeles, CA

Crude Fiber Determination

First Place:

Joe Beckwith, Barrow-Agee Laboratories, Greenwood, MS

Honorable Mention:

James P. Minyard, Jr., Mississippi State Chemical Laboratories, Mississippi State, MS

David A. Bradham, Jr., Barrow-Agee Laboratories, Greenville, MS

Philip L. Maiers, Doty-Wilhoit Laboratories, Minneapolis, MN

## Cottonseed (10 samples)

First Place and Winner of the R.T. Doughtie, Jr., Cup: Vera Pierce, Plains Cooperative Oil Mill, Lubbock, TX

Honorable Mention: Edward R. Hahn, Hahn Laboratories, Columbia, SC Deropha J. Porter, Porter Testing Laboratory, Oklahoma City, OK

## Drying Oils (6 samples)

First Place:

J. Werner, Maple Leaf Mills, Ltd., Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Second Place:

T.M. Narayanan Nair, Charles V. Bacon Laboratories, Inc., Jersey City, NJ

## NIOP Fats and Oils (5 samples)

First Place (Tie):

Kenneth L. Fields, Charles V. Bacon, Inc., Lansing, IL

## First Place (Tie):

John W. Thomas, Superintendence Co., Inc., Kenner, LA

## Copra (4 samples)

## First Place:

Peter Wiertz, Vereidigter Handelschemiker, Hamburg, West Germany

Second Place: Michael L. Valletta, Bureau of Chemistry, New York, NY

## Tallow and Grease (5 samples)

## First Place:

Willis L. Price, Lever Brothers Co., Baltimore, MD

Honorable Mention:

Paul C. Thionville, Thionville Laboratories, New Orleans, LA

Kenneth L. Fields, Charles V. Bacon, Inc., Lansing, IL

T.M. Narayanan Nair, Charles V. Bacon, Inc., Jersey City, NJ

John R. Ledin, Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, Des Moines, IA

#### Safflower (7 samples)

First Place:

Paul C. Thionville, Thionville Laboratories, New Orleans, LA

Second Place:

Mamdouh H. Abed, Abbot A. Hanks, Inc., San Francisco, CA

## Peanut Aflatoxin (6 samples)

First Place:

M. Caerou, Duquesne Purina, Montfort-Sur-Risle, France

Honorable Mention:

C. Beck, Planters Peanuts, Suffolk, VA

Dr. A. Verway, Chemical Laboratory, Rotterdam, Holland

## Cottonseed Aflatoxin (6 samples)

First Place:

M. Caerou, Duquesne Purina, Montfort-Sur-Risle, France

Honorable Mention:

Warren E. Truman, Casa Grande Oil Mill, Casa Grande, AZ

## Peanuts (7 samples)

First Place:

William C. Dean, Dothan Oil Mill Co., Dothan, AL

Honorable Mention:

Deropha J. Porter, Porter Testing Laboratory, Oklahoma City, OK

## Soybean Oil (4 samples)

First Place:

Frederick D. Newcomb, Lever Brothers Co., Commerce, CA

Honorable Mention:

John W. Thomas, Superintendence Co., Inc., Kenner, LA

Verlin I. Allbritton, HumKo Products, Memphis, TN Cecil B. Speer, Tenent & Associates Laboratory, Memphis, TN

J.C. Williams, Best Foods, Bayonne, NJ

Vera Pierce, Plains Cooperative Oil Mill, Lubbock, TX

## Soybeans (10 samples)

First Place:

John W. Thomas, Superintendence Co., Inc., Kenner, LA

Honorable Mention:

Lela I. Vines, Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, Wilson, AR

H. Hirayama, Nippon Yuryo Kentei Kyokai, Kaigandori Naka-Ku, Hokohama, Japan Robert Hein, Dawson Mills, Dawson, MN

## Edible Fats (5 samples)

Highest Standing: Linton G. Lanier, Jr., Hunt-Wesson Foods, Inc., Savannah, GA
Exceptionally High Standing: Dave Forrester, Swift Canadian Co., Ltd., Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Bert R. Boynton, Swift Edible Oils Co., Fort Worth, TX
Frederick D. Newcomb, Lever Brothers Co., Commerce, CA
George R. Payne, HumKo Products, Memphis, TN

## Cottonseed Oil (4 samples)

First Place: Paul C. Thionville, Thionville Laboratories, New Orleans, LA
Honorable Mention: Linton G. Lanier, Jr., Hunt-Wesson Foods, Inc., Savannah, GA
L. Dave McClung, CPC International, San Francisco CA
John W. Thomas, Superintendence Co., Inc., Kenner, LA
Frederick D. Newcomb, Lever Brothers Co., Commerce, CA
Cecil B. Speer, Tenent & Associates Laboratory,

## Cellulose (10 samples)

Memphis, TN

First Place: H.L. Ketcham, Jr., Southern Cellulose Products, Inc., Chattanooga, TN

Second Place: Donald J. Dowling, Jr., Buckeye Cellulose Corp., Memphis, TN

#### Gas Chromatography (6 samples)

First Place:

R.G. Manning, SCM Glidden-Durkee, Strongsville, OH Honorable Mention:

F. Oye Teng Moh, Unimills B.V., Zwijndrecht, Holland

Barbara Hickey, Central Soya, Chicago, IL

Don Parton, HumKo Products, Champaign, IL

J. Ponte, Jr., ITT Continental Baking Co., Inc., Rye, NY

Ragnar Ohlson, AB Karlshamn Oljefabriker, Research Laboratory, Karlshamn, Sweden

# Flameless Atomic Absorption Literature Available

The Analytical Instrument Division of Instrumentation Laboratory is offering a free, 12 page report entitled "The Analysis of Difficult Samples with a Flameless Atomic Absorption Atomizer."

The report describes the direct determination of vanadium in gas, oils, iron in pitch, and titanium in polypropylene, by means of the IL 455 Flameless Atomizer which uses pyrolytically coated graphite microboats, and an airacetylene miniburner which is used to pyrolyze the samples.

For copies, write for Report No. 59, to Instrumentation Laboratory, Inc., Jonspin Road, Wilmington, MA 01887.